Marvel at the Artistry of Two Organizations During a Joint Symphony Performance

Incorporated in 1966, the Arkansas Symphony Orchestra Society, Inc. exists to connect, enrich, inspire and advance Arkansas through the power of music. The Arkansas Symphony Orchestra now performs over 60 concerts per season, which includes the Masterworks and Pops Concerts. This season the Arkansas Symphony Orchestra has joined forces with The Oxford American.

The Oxford American, in collaboration with Arkansas Symphony Orchestra, presents the world premiere of the No Tears Suite with new symphonic arrangements written by Grammy-nominated jazz bassist and composer Rufus Reid. Inspired by Melba Patillo Beals’ Memoir Warriors Don’t Cry, No Tears Suite honors the sacrifices and ongoing work of all those who strive to build a more just and equal society.

The Oxford American provides platforms for artists whose work illuminates a deeper understanding of the South’s complexity. This project is generously funded by the Stella Boyle Smith Trust, Mid-America Arts Alliance, the National Endowment for the Arts and the state arts agencies of Arkansas, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, Oklahoma and Texas.

General Admission tickets for this performance are $40. Tickets may be purchased online at, by calling the Box Office at 501-666-1761 ext. 1, or at the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center 60 minutes before the performance.

Step outside of our welcoming and comfortable community at The Canopy Apartments in Little Rock, Arkansas for the day! This event is coming to town on Saturday, and it promises to be a wonderful time!

Event Time/Date:
Saturday, March 2, 2019—8:00 PM

Event Venue Location:
Mosaic Templars Cultural Center
501 West 9th Street,
Little Rock, Arkansas 72201

Latest Blogs